ASHLEY RHODES-COURTER

ASHLEY RHODES-COURTER

NEW YORK TIMES BEST SELLING AUTHOR

“Nine years in the foster care system could ruin a kid. But Ashley not only survived, she’s thrived.”-Teen People

For the more than half a million children in foster care, and the 118,000 children waiting to be adopted. May they find as much love, happiness, and success as I have. I also want to thank the GOOD foster and adoptive parents for opening their hearts and homes to children. And without dedicated CASA’s, Guardian ad Litem, and other child welfare workers, so many more of us would fall through the cracks.

Ashley is currently speaking at events around the country, telling her story and advocating on behalf of America’s foster children. Be sure to check her appearance calendar to see where you can find her.

MORE INFO

Biography

Ashley Rhodes-Courter was born in North Carolina in 1985 and entered the Florida foster care system at the age tender age of three. Over the next nine years, she lived in 14 placements before being adopted at age 12 by Phil and Gay Courter of Crystal River, Florida.

Ashley graduated with honors from Eckerd College in St. Petersburg, Florida, where she completed a double major in Communications and Theatre with a double minor in Political Science and Psychology.
At college, Ashley spent time in South Africa working with a children’s literacy project. She then went to China during the summer of 2009 to explore their culture and child welfare system. Nationally, she serves on several child welfare boards such as: Children Without a Voice USA (Atlanta, GA) and Family Focus Adoption Services (New York). In her local community she works with several organizations including the Heart Gallery of Pasco & Pinellas, and the Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals, and Ashley is also a Guardian ad Litem Volunteer (or CASA).

Ashley was the Youth Advocate of the Year for the North American Council on Adoptable Children and won the Child Welfare League of America “Kids to Kids” National Service Grand Prize. In 2004, she and her family jointly won the Angels in Adoption Award from the Congressional Coalition on Adoption Institute. Then, in 2008, she individually won the Coalition’s “National Angel” award along with the CBS Corporation.

In 2007 she was one of 20 college students selected for the USA Today All-USA Academic Team. Ashley also was one of the four GOLDEN BR!CK Award winners for outstanding advocacy by Do Something, and was named one of GLAMOUR Magazine’s Top Ten College Women.

In 2008, Simon and Schuster published her memoir, “Three Little Words” which quickly became a New York Times Bestseller. Her book has received many national and local awards, and is currently being used in classrooms all across the country (2010). Ashley hosted a television program called “Explore Adoption” which was produced by the State of Florida to raise the public’s awareness of foster children in need of loving and permanent homes. This segment won an Emmy in 2009.

Ashley has been featured on Montel Williams, The Today Show, Good Morning America, $.99 Cool Ranch Doritos bags, and many national and local television shows. She is currently maintaining a full calendar of speeches and workshops all across the country. She has a passion to tell her story and share hope with other foster children and encourage adoption and permanency.

Speaking Programs
  • Three Little Words
  • Making a Difference:  How One Individual Can Change the Course of Another
  • Reframing Your Life:  What’s Good About Bad Experiences
  • Keys to My Kingdom:  School as Sanctuary; Teachers as Mentors
Reviews

“Ashley Rhodes-Courter is triumphant in her quest to overcome insurmountable odds. I celebrate her courage to seek out the best in humanity in spite of its failings.”

Victoria Rowell, New York Times bestselling author of The Women Who Raised Me: A Memoir

“Nine years in the foster care system could ruin a kid. But [Ashley] not only survived, she’s thrived.”

Teen People

“The author’s ability to form intelligent, open-minded conclusions about her traumatic childhood demonstrates her remarkable control and insight, and although there are plenty of wrenching moments, she succeeds not in attracting pity but in her stated intention, of drawing attention to the children who currently share the plight that she herself overcame.”

Publishers Weekly

“Quiet scenes cut deepest: the author’s description of her only after-school visit to a friend’s home lingers heartbreakingly in one’s mind. This gifted young writer’s moving and eye-opening story will especially appeal to fans of Jeannette Walls’s The Glass Castle and David Pelzer’s autobiographical books.”

School Library Journal

Ashley Rhodes-Courter travels from CITY NAME